Let’s smoke – “Gotta live like we’re dying” !!??

I quit smoking last Tuesday and I feel great about it. All the credit goes to my co-workers at Merck Serono, friends and myself (of course).

Blogs are great! Wait a second; it’s about me quitting smoking, right? Yes, don’t worry we’re getting there. I have a friend that writes poetically. She got me totally enchanted to her writing the moment I read her first Arabic writing (oh so she writes in Arabic! Yes and she writes in English too). It was great! Anyway, that’s not what I’m discussing here. Let’s get to it!

So the other day, while I was waiting for my coach to take me to Rockland, I was checking my facebook (don’t we all?) and I noticed that my friend had a new posting. Her opening was so interesting that she had me read her whole piece – it wasn’t a happy writing of you’re wondering!  The first line was: “A lot of people believe in that quote; “Gotta live like we’re dying.””

I stopped at that line for a moment as my life flashed before my eyes! As I was recalling memories I said to myself “this is beautiful, but what the heck, who cares after all, it’s true: we gotta live like we’re dying.” But wait a minute, that’s not so true! I realized that when I quit smoking. Absurd. I know. But this is how it is!

Every cigarette I smoked I justify it by the quote. But since I quit smoking (I love how it sounds) I realized that I didn’t get the quote quite well! If I want to live like I’m dying then what kind of life a one would live? You’re dying tomorrow anyways, why bother to bust your ass working, studying, doing good deeds, making friends, reading, thinking, or watching over your health? I’m dying so I’m not doing this and I’m not doing that! We all need to step back a moment and think – wait a second – why I’m I doing this? So yes, that’s what I realized. I was dying. I was killing myself, smoking.

You may ask why I quit; you still young; you can quit later on in life; lots of stress and pressure, have a smoke dude! Believe it or not I have heard all of that.

What really made me quit smoking was the support I’ve been receiving from my co-workers at EMD Serono. Those people are indescribable. They were so determined to have me quit smoking. They did great job!

I will later talk about the story of how I quit! (a week ago)…

Later folks…

2 thoughts on “Let’s smoke – “Gotta live like we’re dying” !!??

    1. mustafabasree Post author

      Thanks! I just saw your comment, and more importantly, re-read this post for the first time since I posted it.. So I relapsed after this, and I quit again (I know, judge away). I quit for about 13 months, relapsed, smoked for ~9 months and then I quit again. It’s my 7th months of not-smoking…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

