Marathon in Training: Week 2 Summary (+ Rant)

This past week has not been very kind to me. My car overheated and broke down in the middle of the highway, I had two teeth extracted in preparation for dental implants, and my phone’s battery is fried. It would have been a better timing if the phone battery decided to go out after I got stranded. It went from somewhere in the 60-something% to 20% as the car overheated. I had to not only figure out where I was and let someone know, but I also had to call/search for a towing truck. Oh and I took out my car charger the day before because I wanted to use at Starbucks. Go figure. Also, who knew Giant Eagle did not sell car chargers? Completely irrelevant, but to add insult to injury, I finished reading my favorite book and watching my favorite show this week too. So yeah, life couldn’t you wait until next week?

Rant is over. Off to the positive side….

I need to learn how to meditate.

I’m so very grateful that I got home that night; I’m grateful for my co-worker Sarah for driving me to work the next day (oh and driving me to the gym and back home :).) I’m grateful for both parents and brother for being very supportive and helpful as I know next to nothing in cars. Sometimes I take people for granted. It’s those kinds of incidents that serve as reminders of family loving and friends support. I don’t like negative Zen, I will work harder to harness positive energy and harvest my Zen better.

Moreover, I’m taking on more responsibilities at work en route for a promotion. I have my one-year review on Monday; fingers crossed it will be a good one!!

Due to oral surgery I was advised not to workout for at least couple days. I was bumped that I had to miss Saturday’s group run L! Although the day of surgery sucked, it overall went great. I was off pain meds the next day. I bled for one day. Day 2 was basically swelling and soreness which I could live with – so I went to the gym :D! It might not have been the smartest idea but I was bored. At any rate, knowing that lifting was alright – my clot did not disintegrate – I decided to go running Sunday morning to compensate for Saturday. It was refreshing, energizing, and fun to run in the morning. I actually had more energy when I was done running than before. After some stretching and quality Turkish coffee, I hit the gym for some lifting!

So training-wise, I probably will not get stars for this past week. I missed two runs – Wednesday and Saturday – for a total of 11 miles. But I did finish Monday’s run one second shy from 10-minute pace, 9:59 to be exact!!!! Wooo for me. Baby steps.

I'm actually very proud of this collage work.

I’m actually very proud of this collage work.

Last Week’s To-Do List Results:

  • Running with calf compression proved to be counterproductive for me. It works better for me wearing it after
  • I did allow two hours before running for food to be digested. I put in a blender three raw eggs, one banana, and a cup of spinach. It was great! I could barely taste the eggs. Thinking about how slimy they were made my stomach crinch, so if you opt for this recipe make sure not to picture raw eggs.
  • Judging the two runs I had one last Monday and this morning (Sunday), I have an average pace of 10-minute/mile. So yay!
  • As far as walking pauses while running, I’m still walking to rest. I need to do a better job at minimizing time walked.

This Week’s To-Do List:

  • Have an average pace somewhere between 10:00 and 10:20;
  • Minimize walking to rest;
  • Be mindful of nutrition.

Week 2 Running Stats:

Monday 1/19 3 miles= 29:57 minutes, pace= 09.59min/mile (woohoo!)
Wednesday 1/21 4 miles= missed run due to car problems *sad face*
Saturday 1/24 7 miles= missed run due to oral surgery *sad face^2*
Sunday (add run) 1/25 5.6 miles= 58:03 minutes, pace= 10:42min/mile (slow pace due to lots of walking, traffic light stops, and a Starbucks stop to hydrate. So many excuses. I need to set-up the run better next time.)

Week 2 average pace= 10.00min/mile

Tomorrow is a new day, new week, new pace 🙂 … Happy running troopers!

Leave a Reply

