Running My First Marathon

Run like a turtle!

I decided to run a marathon….yep…a full one which equals to 26.2 miles (or 42.2km for those who can’t do miles.)! Specifically, I’m signing up for the Rite Aid Cleveland Marathon Sunday May 17th, 2015. If you are running it, see ya at 7am with bells on!!

I recognize that this is a challenge I should not take lightly. I’m also mindful of the potential injuries I might incur upon myself. However, I’m doing this because I would like to push myself to the limits. I will stop when I feel like I’m going to hurt myself. So here’s to a new year of love, peace and fitness.

I’m blogging about this because I’m secretly freaking out. Now that some people are following me I’d be embarrassed to quit. The plan is, I tell myself, this blog will incentivize me to run and propel those feet to bounce…

Kitty thinks I'm weird

Kitty thinks I’m weird

So those of you who know me know that I’m into fitness and healthy eating. I strive to maintain a balanced lifestyle between working out and indulging in worldly things. (Trust me, I eat chocolate, ice cream and cheesy burgers on a regular basis. I mean if you bring me chocolate you pretty much own my soul.) I maintain a healthy fat% by simply following basic fitness/nutrition rules as in working out often and watching my portions. That’s it. I leave the rest to my body to deal with it. I digress.

 

I started running for the first time last year February 2014. It was because I started a new job that had a FitClub. Since I was a newbie I wanted to blend in…I signed up for The Ohio State’s Ross Heart Hospital 5K. I reached out to my friend, Andrea, a former cross country runner, to see if she would run it! I was scared so I really hoped Andrea would say yes. She did!! And we finished 31-something minutes.

Ross Hearth Hospital 5k. I was very excited.

Ross Hearth Hospital 5k. I was very excited.

After that I did 10k with Columbus Running Company (1:07h) and the Hot Chocolate 15k (1:42h). I did plenty of 5k’s on the side. My 5k PR = 25:16m. Although it isn’t very good, I run for fun. I never really consciously think of going fast.

I get excited when I see cameras. This was probably my 7th mile in.

Hot Chocolate 15k; finished 1:42h

I registered with Columbus Running Company for a 17-week training plan. They are graciously offering the plan for free, supplementing it with coach lectures about form and nutrition and peppering it with help from physical therapists to talk about injury prevention and crosstraining. In addition, they offer this wonderful thing on Saturdays at 8am where people go on group runs from CRC stores throughout Columbus. I think the plan is doable; I may need to alter my lifting schedule to accommodate this new program. But I can do it.

I already got an email from the lead couch detailing the training program and services provided to help us succeed accomplishing this big goal.. I’m pumped for this week’s Meet the Couch night! I get to meet my new running buddies and talk about…

“Why does everything hurt?” and “what the heck are strides?”

 

I’m incredibly excited. Salam.

Some stats:
Weight: 152.3lbs
Height: 170cm
%Fat (last checked December 28, 2014): 7.6%
5k PR: 25:16 minutes

I’m debating whether or not I should add a body picture…

2 thoughts on “Running My First Marathon

  1. Kevin

    Good for you on getting out there and running. It is quite a ride and some of us have found it quite addicting. Very courageous to add races to your goals. Have fun out there.

    Reply

Leave a comment